An Introduction to “the man with the rolled up pants”

Welcome! I’m Alex, yet another Hub-Bub volunteer. Like Mesha, Weslie, and Hannah (who, I am certain will write to us soon), I am thrilled to be involved with Hub-Bub. As someone drawn to creativity of every sort, I am consistently amazed by the varieties of expression I see around me in Spartanburg, and I am convinced that Hub-Bub is the perfect organization not only to promote these different artistic endeavors but also to help them flourish.

When I reflect on why I volunteer with Hub-Bub, I always come back to the same question: Why not? Like I mentioned, I strongly believe in Hub-Bub’s vision and goals, but, more than this, I love the feeling of accomplishment and connectedness that comes from volunteering with someone. I want to work with the Man, not for Him (or Her!). And I think volunteer work – especially when it comes to the arts – helps bring people together in this way like nothing else can.

But, of course, I have a life outside of Hub-Bub and volunteerism. And here is a brief glimpse of what makes me me:

  1. I think sweet tea is a direct gift from above.
  2. I’m an English major at Wofford College and am constantly reading something.
  3. I love to drive. And I love poetry. Occasionally I’ll listen to poetry recordings while I drive.
  4. Love the beach, hate the sand.
  5. If I could eat anything for the rest of my life it would probably be my mother’s gumbo.
  6. I’m addicted to trivia. Also to tweeting. Sometimes this goes hand-in-hand.
  7. I’m consistently baffled by the amount of people who haven’t seen Heathers or, worse, don’t even know what it is.

I look forward to writing more soon! Be sure to keep in touch with me and the other bloggers through comments, Facebook, and Twitter!

3 Comments

Filed under HUB-BUB Staff

3 responses to “An Introduction to “the man with the rolled up pants”

  1. Krista Jones

    So glad that you are blogging for Hub Bub, Alex! Look forward to reading more!

  2. Anna Hurd

    Alex- Love the blog and can’t wait to see what you post next!

  3. Cathy

    Great to be connected to you with your blog. Look forward to hearing and seeing more. Yes, your mother’s gumbo is geat. Hope you are having a great summer, making new friendships and learning a lot with your internship. Everyone misses you, Nana Cat

Leave a Reply

