An Introduction to “the one in the corner with the expressive hands”

Hi!  I’m Weslie!  I am a recent graduate of Clemson University and I started volunteering at Hub-Bub about 3 weeks ago.  Art, music, creativity in general has always been somewhat of a mystery to me.  I love it but I consider myself more of a left-brained person so all those things have never really clicked with me.  Now that doesn’t mean I didn’t give them my best shot!  I’m super excited to be working at Hub-Bub this summer where we can help each other out!

I feel that we as a society take art in general for granted.  We just assume it will always be there.  We don’t think about how it will get there.  I started volunteering at Hub-Bub so that I could help remind people that art is an important part of who we are and we can’t just forget it’s there.  Spartanburg has been super supportive of our organization over the years and I hope that they will continue to do so.  I hope you enjoy the blogs that I write this summer.

Just a little bit about me:

I LOVE to read.  I always have a book with me.  I do enjoy music.  I play the bass (stand-up).  Which is amusing to most people since the instrument is bigger than I am!  Animals have a special place in my heart.  Especially ones that I can cuddle up with, like the cute lion cub in my picture.  Non-profits are my passion.  I think they serve a wonderful purpose and I like doing whatever I can to help them, especially if I really believe in what they’re doing–like Hub-Bub.

Stay tuned because I plan to give you a little look into Swing Dancing! And the possibility of bringing it to Spartanburg!

Leave a comment

Filed under HUB-BUB Staff

Leave a Reply

