On “The Widower’s Pearls”

Abe Duenas

Abe Duenas

This guest post is written by Abe Duenas, filmmaker of Kathryn Brackett’s “Girl Talk” (retitled The Widower’s Pearls) for the Expecting Goodness Short Film Festival on March 24. Abe is a seasoned short filmmaker, having written and directed 10 short films and many more commercials. He has recently made his mark in South Carolina, receiving a grant from the SC film Commission to produce his film The Lot in 2011.

 

The Widower’s Pearls is my adaptation of Kathryn A. Brackett’s short story “Girl Talk.” After noticing this film festival was going to be based on adapting short stories to screen, I jumped at the opportunity to apply. I can only imagine what the authors wondered after agreeing to be part of this project – what will happen to my story, will it be what I wrote, or something inspired by my work? Well, I chose to stay as close to the story as possible, because to me, that is what an adaptation is. That being said, the first thing people may notice is the title change (something that makes me look like a complete hypocrite after the previous statement). I chose to change the title because I want the audience to know going into this film what situation this father finds himself in. With this being a short film, it’s a huge bonus to have the audience clued in on who the characters are from the start. I mean, what kind of person does not feel immediate empathy when they hear the word widower?

After reading it, I immediately knew I would be heartbroken if another filmmaker chose it. Thankfully, I had the opportunity of adapting a story about a widower who burns supper and has to take his three daughters, all with their own unique issues that night, out to a too familiar diner one evening. Although the majority of people today are not widowers or widows, people will be able to relate to the characters and imagine what they may be feeling, because everyone understands the concept of grief, pain and loss. The film has both comedy and drama, basically a dramedy.

We filmed this in the historic Capri Theatre and the 80-year-old Harold’s Restaurant, which has been featured on Guy Fieri’s show Diners, Drive-ins and Dives from the Food Network. The cast assembled features Elijah Chester, portraying Alan, the father of 12-year-old Katie (Madison Nolte), 9-year-old Megan (Olivia Chester), and 5-year-old Jilly (Zoe Clarke). We spent two days filming and had a great time working on the project. I want to thank my whole crew for the fantastic dedication they have shown on this project. Their passion is proof that if you work on what you love, then it isn’t really work.

–Abe Duenas

2 Comments

Filed under Guest

2 responses to “On “The Widower’s Pearls”

  1. Kathryn Brackett

    Abe, this is such a thoughtful post, and I’m honored to be working with you as well. Thank you and your crew, as well as the cast, for all their hard work. You guys are so awesome!! I knew filmmaking was difficult, but I had no idea how challenging it could be until I participated hands-on. I appreciate the opportunity to be a part of the film throughout its duration, and I’m very excited to see the final product. Again, thank you for your dedication. These characters have been with me for a decade; I cherish them, and it’s truly a dream come true to see them come to life on screen.

Leave a Reply

