My HUB-BUB: Liz Mour

Liz Mour

Liz Mour

This guest post is written by Elizabeth Mour, a member of the HUB-BUB Advisory Committee. She was raised in Los Angeles and graduated from the University of California, Irvine with B.A in Psychology, Cognitive Science. She is currently working as an AmeriCorps VISTA for The Butterfly Foundation.

The Tootsie Roll Experience

It’s the 90s, and on everyone’s television set, the friendly owl asks “How many licks does it take to get to the center of a tootsie roll pop?” Have you ever thought of this question? I have.  In the commercial, each person says how many licks it takes, but the number is always different. The owl never seems to get the real answer and is doomed to forever ask. So I decided to put the question to the test. I took a red tootsie roll pop, unwrapped the red crinkled packaging, and gazed at the red sugary ball. I was about to learn how many licks it took to reach the chocolaty goodness waiting in the middle. How exciting! I began- one lick, two licks, three licks, four, five, six, seven… and then the phone rang and then I remembered I had to do laundry. Oh, but then there was a song I was meaning to download and soon I eventually got sucked into watching YouTube videos.

Before I knew it the lollipop was gone into the abyss of my belly. And it was good! But I had completely lost count and I still had no clue as to how many licks it took. That’s when I realized, it didn’t matter how many licks it took to get to the center. The lollipop was just as delicious. I enjoyed it just the same. Yes, it’s true, the best part of the tootsie roll pop is the chocolate center, but the Adventure of getting there was just as sweet and delicious. And so, this is what I hold to be true:  Live for the adventure, enjoy the journey, and embrace the final destination–that’s the tootsie roll experience.

–Liz Mour

Leave a comment

Filed under Guest

Leave a Reply

