A Voice You Should Know: Rochelle Williams

Rochelle Williams

Rochelle Williams

Meet Rochelle Williams, member of the HubCulture Board and Community Mobilizing Organizer with Partners for Active Living in Spartanburg. Previously she worked as a policy analyst at an anti-poverty organization in Raleigh, NC, and at the nonprofit Carter Center in Atlanta, GA, she wrote reports about the organization’s international efforts to advance human rights and alleviate suffering. We’re thrilled to have Rochelle on our board and as a force for change in Spartanburg, and we want you to know her voice.

What brought you to Spartanburg?

Love.

What do you do for a living and for fun?

I am a community organizer. I organize communities. For fun, I read, literary fiction mainly. I sew (not well, but I enjoy the process). I hoop dance. My absolute favorite thing to do is share a leasurly meal with my husband and/or friends then sit around cuttin’ up and telling stories afterwards.

What did you think when you first heard about HUB-BUB?

I heard about the artists-in-residence program first. I was living in Durham, North Carolina and my first thought was, “I wish we had something like that here.” I was impressed that the organization was successfully using the arts to foster community. I am still in awe of it.

If you were to make a loud noise on The Showroom stage, what would it sound like?

A very enthusiastic soul clap.

Tell us about one of your passions.

My current obsession is my hula hoop. I took a hoop dancing class in Mauldin this summer and am slowly teaching myself the basics. I won’t be auditioning for Cirque du Soleil anytime soon, but I am having fun. It’s addictive.

What is your advice to people who want to get involved in their community?

Just raise your hand. Let people know. The best thing about Spartanburg is how easy it is to pitch in and have an impact.

What’s your favorite thing about Spartanburg?

Hatcher Gardens. I eat lunch there almost every day.

What’s your passion, Spartanburg? Share your voice with us!

 

2 Comments

Filed under HUB-BUB Staff, Kari Jackson

2 responses to “A Voice You Should Know: Rochelle Williams

  1. Amos

    Spartanburg and that fella are lucky to have you.

    • Delva Vereen

      Hi Rochelle, you are a great motivator and I can sence the joy you have in what you do. I plan to get more involved in my community and will be staring this weekend. Will be working a “Welcome Home Event” for OEF/OIF/OND (Operation Enduring Freedom, Operation Iraqi freedom and Operation New Dawn)veterans. Everyone is invited to come out on Saturday 9/17/2011 from 10am to 4pm. Fayetteville VAMC Campus in the Pavilion Area.

Leave a Reply

