It’s my last day and I’m from out of town

Last Tuesday, I packed up my trailer and finished cleaning up my awesome HUB-BUB apartment. Wednesday morning I drove up north to take all my stuff to my parents house in Western PA. The year at HUB-BUB has gone fast. I can’t believe it has been 11 months already. For those of you who got to know me during the year in Spartanburg, I often repeated many phrases, one of which was my classic phrase to be used as an excuse for something not quite going right, “It’s my first day, and I am out of town.” This was true in the very beginning, but of course I used it all year long.

For my final reflection on my time at HUB-BUB, I could talk about the projects I’ve been involved in over the 11 months I spend in Spartanburg, however I did that throughout the year. You all can go back through the HUB-BUB flickr page and the previous blog posts to see those things. I am more interested in the wonderful people I met during the course of my residency and the experiences with those people during my tenure as a HUB-BUB Artist in Residence.

I simply cannot say enough about my three other fellow artists in residence, Ian, Kerri, and Corinne. I could not have asked for three other people to share the top floor of the building with. I am so glad and grateful to have gotten to know and work with you three wonderful people for the past 11 months. I am a more knowledgeable and better person for having learned from you three. Ian, having a neighbor with a similar language of tools and 3-d construction was both comforting and helpful, plus I like the cut of your jib. Kerri, you vast knowledge of contemporary painting, beautiful patterned paintings, and wonderfully strong spirit was a great source of inspiration. Corinne, you recommended so many great books for me to read right off the bat, you use your words so well, and I was glad to learn, understand and compare the practice of a writer to the practice of a visual artist. There are so many more things I can say about all of you, I could ramble on and on, I’ll keep it brief. You three are wonderful and I hope to see you all again many times in the future!

I want to thank Celia, Alix, Cheryl, Stephen at HUB-BUB and Besty, Kari, and Erin at HUB CITY WRITERS PROJECT for everything you all did for us the past 11 months. It has been truly an amazing and unforgettable experience! Thank you all for working so hard to make the residency a possibility! Thank you to all the funders and donors for recognizing HUB-BUB and HCWP as a worthwhile investment! Thank you to the City of Spartanburg for supporting everything HUB-BUB and HCWP can do for your city! And thank you to all of the wonderful people I met through the HUB-BUB network, there are entirely too many names to list, you all know who you are! I will never forget the meaningful experiences we have shared!

And as for being the last AIR to leave and the last one to post a reflection on the blog I have a new excuse, It was my last day, and I’m from out of town. I will miss you all, and will be back to visit soon!

-Ron Longsdorf

3 Comments

Filed under Artists-in-Residence, Ron Longsdorf (10-11)

3 responses to “It’s my last day and I’m from out of town

  1. Corinne

    Thank you, Travers. Getting to know you and working with your students helped to really make my experience.

    • Corinne

      Oops– that was weird. That comment is meant for the post above. But Ron. Hi. Thank you for being from out of town and having a perpetual first day– a very beautiful thing!

Leave a Reply

