An open letter to Spartanburg

Dear Spartanburg,

I am so sorry to have been neglecting you, and not blogging about you for the past two months. It’s not you, it’s me. You know how it goes, you get busy, you forget to blog about your thoughts related to the city you live in. Then the holidays show up quicker than expected, you visit family and friends, and before you know it, it’s 2011.

I know i shouldn’t be making excuses. There is no excuse. I’m sorry baby, will you ever forgive me? I’m back now, and I am giving you all my attention and love. Let’s not let this short break get between us. We still have so much time together, let’s focus on the present and not worry about the past.

Sure there have been some bumps along the way, but no one has a perfect relationship with their city. I mean sure i haven’t gone out to all of your establishments, to all your bars, to all your parties, but you didn’t have to get so cold an snowy for a week. I was ready to get back together and you kept the distance.

If you’ll have me Spartanburg, I promise I will give you all I can in 2011. I know I’ve made mistakes, but we’ve had some good times too. Let’s focus on the positive, and what we can keep doing, and think of all we can accomplish together! So quit giving me that over cast, cold, and rainy sky, when I know you’ve got such a beautiful sunset!

Let’s keep this relationship strong Spartanburg. I promise I’ll write more, I promise I’ll see more of you. I love your spirit Spartanburg, don’t change.

Yours truly,

Ron

Leave a comment

Filed under Artists-in-Residence, Ron Longsdorf (10-11)

Leave a Reply

