A letter to 2011

Dear 2011,

 

How are you doing?  Well, it has already been a crazy year.  I danced the New Year into being and then woke up a few hours later to go to a wedding.  The bride and groom wanted to get married on 1.1.11 at 11.11am.  It was brutally early (with the 2 + hour car ride there), but we made it through.  And while on the subject of weddings, I have one each month for the next 7 months.  It is the year of commitment I guess.

 

I arrived back in Spartanburg and jumped right into painting.  It was going well for a week or so, UNTIL the big snowstorm.  Well, not big in compared to most other places I have lived, but as I learned this week, 3 inches of snow is enough to shut a town down for days upon days.  It took Ian and I about 30 minutes to push his car out of the parking lot on Tuesday.  As we drove to Wal-Mart, I realized that the whole town was shut down.  I think Wal-Mart, Home Depot, and the liquor store were the only stores open that day  (and I guess what else do you really need in life?).  When we arrived at Wal-Mart, it was like WWIII had hit.  There were no eggs, no milk, no bananas!!!! The whole store was empty. In my 27 years of crazy winters, I have never seen a storm affect a town so much.  I finally took a shower Tuesday night and got to work on all the things I had put off for two days.

 

So 2011, we’ll be starting off strong this weekend with an amazing show put on by us artist-in-residents.  Each of us invited 2 artist friends to bring work to show to Spartanburg.  The show is beautiful.  It is a very diverse show, ranging from a sewn boat, felt wall hanging, photos, drawings, paintings, etc.  Every person in the show uses their material in a very unique way, but all the pieces flow together.  We will be making curry and having free wine.  It is going to be a fun night!!  And probably dancing afterward.  I danced a lot in 2010, but hopefully this year will be even crazier dancing!!!!

 

I am looking forward to the year and promise to write more to you my blog!  Oh and I believe I will have a vehicle in about a week.  It is going to be awesome.

 

xoxo

Kerri

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Artists-in-Residence, Kerri Ammirata (10-11)

Leave a Reply

