A Hub-Halloween

It’s a nice brisk fall, time for cooler temperatures, and Halloween. But wait, it’s South Carolina and it’s still been in the 70s and sunny during the daytime! This may have been one of the warmest Halloween holidays I’ve experienced in my life time. It’s been in the 60s to low 70s here, and still manageable at night.

However, it was a cool morning on Saturday. I did feel like I was back in the north. Ian, Corinne and I went to the farmers market to help out with the pumpkin carving station. We each carved some pumpkins of our own devise as well as helping out with anything we could. I carved up a nice Hub-Bub logo pumpkin, while Corinne made a great Alf, and Ian held strong with a nice E.T. I helped one kid carve his skeletal face pattern, then it was time to move on.

I hadn’t carved a pumpkin in several years. I actually don’t remember the last time I did. It has been years of school and work, and being an adult. This was great, it felt like I was back at home trying to make amazing intricate designs with my sister. It was that whole perfectionist thing, and the sibling competition, of who could make the best one. I think we all had a good time Saturday morning scooping plant guts and slicing patterns.

The evening time brought Halloween party festivities at Brad and Sara’s house. Of course first comes the struggle of coming up with a costume. I always seem to have great ideas in June, but when it comes close to Halloween time, I am always drawing a blank. I was starting to feel like I was last minute working on my art project in college and critique class was only hours away. I tried a few ideas, making something to wear, with no success. Then it dawned on me, my love and interest in art and art history.

Why not be a famous painting! It was down to maybe a Dali, Edvard Munch’s The Scream, or something abstract. I went with the idea of one of Piet Mondrian’s Compositions of lines and squares of black, red, yellow, and blue on white backgrounds. I’ll make my self a live painting, an abstract painting! Glorious. I mean I’ve always wanted to be a Mondrian painting anyway.

So I spent the day making a cardboard Mondrian knock off, cut a hole to squeeze my mug through, and paint up my face to match. And hey, a painting’s gotta drink too.

I was quite impressed with the costuming abilities of the Spartaburgian folks. Darryl’s homeade Cousin It was of high caliber, gaining him costume contest winner at the party. Sauce was donning a great scottish kilt number, and I am always impressed and amazed by Ian’s cardboard box robot making abilities.

Thanks for a great Halloween Spartanburg.

-Ron

1 Comment

Filed under Artists-in-Residence, Ron Longsdorf (10-11)

One response to “A Hub-Halloween

  1. sara

    those pumpkins ya’ll carved are amazing! and I loved seeing everyone’s costumes…so great to see so many people get creative.

Leave a Reply

