A non-linear history

So it’s time for another update! I’ve been making progress on a few things in the first half of October.

Yoga & Salad.

On Saturday another portion of Corinne’s Yoga workshops took place. This time I was her collaborator. We did yoga for an hour then transitioned into a group salad making action. In the 1960s an art movement Fluxus was born. Fluxus is taken from the Latin root meaning “to flow”. I’ve been thinking about the Fluxus movement since I’ve started the Meals With Ron performance series. In 1962, the artist Alison Knowles developed the set of Fluxus instructions to make a salad. Using the Make A Salad piece as impetus for the yoga workshop, we all made a salad together. Everyone was randomly assigned a task, such as make dressing, cut carrots, crush nuts, set table, cut tomatoes, etc. We combined all elements into a salad, and sat down together and ate.

Was this a performance? Was this art? I’m not exactly sure if the salad making action was art or performance. Perhaps it was because it was in the context of an exhibition space, and I may have assigned it that role experimenting with performance and various non-traditional art ideas. Really I don’t think it needs to be assigned the role of art. It is interesting to think about an art historical trajectory and building from that history in the communal context post yoga practice. It is interesting to think about us clearing our minds via yoga and meditation prior to the communal salad making. Right now I am interested in blurring the lines between art and reality. I think the salad making and other performances are simply and exercise in reality.

Site specific installations

A non-linear history of 149 S. Daniel Morgan Ave. For the past two weeks I’ve been creating a site-specific installation in one of the three boarded up windows along the first floor of the HUB-BUB building. I’ve been taking scrap pieces of wood from the warehouse behind HUB-BUB, cutting them to the height of the window and wedging them vertically across the 8 and half foot span of the space.

The context has been interesting for the work. I have occasionally made site specific installations, but rarely do I make work that is outdoor or highly connected to the context and history of a place. As I went through the warehouse, it was interesting to think about the four years of artists and actions that took place before. Many of the items, projects, and of course scrap materials in the warehouse are a reflection of the history of the things that took place for the past four years. I am corse naturally drawn to architecture and building materials, so it seemed natural to deal with the boarded windows.

I have been thinking about the history of what came before me and how I am in this bizarre unsolicited collaboration between my personal ideas and the elements and histories of other people left behind. In thinking about this history – all the materials had some connection to the space even though not necessarily being original to the place, have “lived” in some way here. Each section of material was randomly selected and inserted into the window space from left to right. Due to the material all being found here and randomly inserted I am left with A non-linear history of 149 S. Daniel Morgan Ave.

Chandelier

Finally, I’ve begun working on my Chandelier project for the Chapman Cultural Center. I am in the process of cutting out a fairly large (about 4.5 X 4 feet) chandelier pattern from 1/2″ thick silver reflective foam insulation. I have my first one cut out and am in the process of cutting two more. Once I have all elements cut out they will be assembled with silver reflective duct tape and spray expanding foam. Hopefully it will be hung in the Cultural Center in the next few weeks once complete. Here is the progress so far:

It is based in a very formal way on a chandelier. But of course will not emit any light from a light source, but rather hopefully when natural light shines in the skylight spaces where it is to be suspended, light will be reflected off of it. I’m not completely sure where this exploration is going and exactly what it will mean, but it is another exercise in material interaction.

-Ron

2 Comments

Filed under Artists-in-Residence, Ron Longsdorf (10-11)

2 responses to “A non-linear history

  1. sara

    LOVE the non linear history piece…it looks awesome there. also can’t wait to see the chandelier hanging in that skylight. brad will be looking down on it from where he works on thursdays, if you’re installing it where i think you are. and by the way, how the heck do you go about cutting something that intricate out so evenly? it looks great.

  2. ronhubbub

    sara, by hand with an exacto knife. It has taken a while to cut all that, but it’s finally near completion.

Leave a Reply

