A fallen column, a false vent, and a chandelier model

On Wednesday morning when I returned to my apartment, to my surprise I found my yogurt container fallen! (I blogged about this last week) It is interesting to think about the construction and destruction on the column. Even though there was no real damage to it, and I can glue it back together easily, it is like seeing your child hurt when you come back home. I suppose then my art is like my children, if i had children.

Anyway I will rebuild, and as I gather more and more yogurt cups each day as I eat my low fat lunch treat, I will continue to explore and experiment with the column. The first version when from  the space in between my outer kitchen counter bar area up to the exposed I-beam directly above. Stay tuned in the future for me to continue the column below the counter to the floor, as if the column is intersecting through the counter. Plus, I hope to have an entire span from floor to ceiling.

Aside from the shock of my fallen column, I have maintained my composure and have been working on other projects in the studio. Since moving into Apartment A, I’ve noticed a peculiar thing about the air intake vent in the main living/studio space. When the A/C vent is ready to intake air and begin to cool, the unit kicks on an the air filter is sucked back against the back interior of the vent, making a fairly loud suck and smack!

Needless to say this took some getting used too, but quickly I became desensitized. And sure I could have just popped the vent cover off, and taped the air filter down, so that every time the unit wants to cool to maintain temperature, the filter won’t be sucked back in a quick slapping action. I’ve been interested in exploring this moment that repeats over and over again in my living and making space.

I’ve begun to document the vent when the filter is laying forward and when it is sucked back when air is being drawn in. I’ve also captured some video footage. I am in the process of experimenting right now, however I am hoping to make a piece about this phenomenon. I will use the documentation to recreate the experience as a time based sculpture/video piece. Right now I am working with a low angle shot of the vent which will be corrected back to a square format with the keystone function of a projector. I’ve been projecting it on silver reflective coated foam insulation paneling. It begins to feel like the interior of the vent shaft. My False Intake Vent is a meditation on the anticipation of the sound, and the action of the filter flying back and gently falling back forward over and over again, day after day.

Below are two still shots taken from the video/sculpture:

(If you look carefully you can see the filter in the back sucked against the back portion of the intake vent.)

(If you look carefully here you can see the filter at the front leaning against the metal intake vent cover.)

Finally, this week Ian and I had a second meeting at the Chapman Culture Center to create some sculptures to suspend in the open skylight shafts on the first floor. We have the go ahead to being making work once we are able to acquire the materials we need. I’ve been thinking about the idea’s of chandeliers for a long time. So essentially we will be making some form of chandelier sculptures.

I’ve been fascinated with flat linear materials becoming ornate sections to become functionless chandelier. I have been playing with my new direction in foam insulation, R-Matte, or silver reflective foam insulation panel. I have create a small model by cutting out and ornate traditional chandelier pattern from the foam. In the model if have combine to planes to make three dimensional form. The final piece will be much larger (approx 5 feet tall, and 4 feet wide), and will have 4 planes intersecting one another. Or 8 spokes around the radial symmetry of the center of the object.

Who knows what will happen next, but these projects are keeping me occupied and thinking about the context of spaces around me, and how that is informing my practice. The works are becoming very direct responses to my environment and more and more site specific.

1 Comment

Filed under Artists-in-Residence, Ron Longsdorf (10-11)

One response to “A fallen column, a false vent, and a chandelier model

  1. Alix

    Can you translate that vent action into Morse code?

Leave a Reply

