Planes, Trains and Automobiles…

Lately, and as far back as a year or so, I have used vehicles as a key element in my work.  These have been models and exaggerations of F-22 fighter jets, bi-planes, M1A2 Abrams battle tanks, tanker semi’s and cars.  I consider these objects as important as the cone figures and they assume a crucial role as facilitator of mischief for the scientist warhead antagonists.  Over the last couple of weeks here in Spartanburg, I have been working with models of helicopters and have made a replica of a Combat Rubber Raiding Craft (CRRC) used by the Navy.  I am hoping to transcend the imaginary in my work with reality by altering the attention to detail that was often removed from my thesis work.  This work was always meant to be menacing yet disarmingly fun.  Now, I want to transition from the “after the incident” to the “premeditation” and “event.”

What do these vehicles have to do with past, present, and future tenses you might ask?  and Where are the Planes, Trains, and Automobiles? I have no idea.  But, I am having fun none the less and am spending way too much time dipping things in paint and accidentally super gluing things to my hands.  These models and the figures that employ and operate them, are reaching a level of independence that those in my last exhibition never had.  I want to have a new work finished for our entry show and it looks like a possibility.  I am excited to connect a few more disparate elements in the gallery to my objects.  Next week….I will make Navy Seal gear for these scientists…Who’s jealous? -ian

2 Comments

Filed under Artists-in-Residence, Ian Shelly (10-11)

2 responses to “Planes, Trains and Automobiles…

  1. Alix

    Um…I’m gonna need some Navy Seal gear too please Ian.

  2. Ron

    I am totally jealous.

Leave a Reply

