Thoughts

In my artwork, I get a lot inspiration from Australian Aboriginal work, spirituality, and my nature. Over the past week I finished a wonderful book The Poisonwood Bible and watched the ever-so popular movie, Avatar. The book is about a missionary family in the Congo, trying to spread Christianity and modern agriculture ideals. It primarily deals with the family dynamics and demise, but is held together by the foreign rule and domination over the Congo. As I was finishing the book, I watched Avatar for the first time and it was technically amazing, but I couldn’t help feeling horrified by the treatment of the humans on a land that was pure and not their own. I just kept thinking how egotistical a nation has to be to think they know what is best for a people they do not know. The political ideas are bit out of reach for me to really think about and how we could ever correct what we have done to our own planet. I guess it is very present in my mind because of the oil spill, but I have a deep sadness for how humans have destroyed environments and humans who were happy without “modern” advancements. I just started the book The Fatal Shore by Robert Hughes, which is about the colonization of Australia.
I know these are some heavy thoughts that I haven’t quite figured out, but a lot of this deep sadness and feeling of being so privileged, drives me to continue my work. Hopefully, over the year, I’ll dive more into these ideas in my work and in conversations.

1 Comment

Filed under Artists-in-Residence, Kerri Ammirata (10-11)

One response to “Thoughts

  1. IF YOU ARE INTERESTED IN AUSIE ABORIGINES, YOU MUST SEE

    ” THE LAST WAVE”. IT DEALS WITH ABORIGINE MYSTICS. GREAT FLICK. 4 STAR RATING. STARS RICHARD CHAMBERLAIN. VERY INTENSE.

Leave a Reply

