tanned, rested and ready -or- I can’t get the sand out of my shoes

I spent the past week in Charleston/Isle of Palms and I have to say it’s good to be home. As to the title of this post, I got a little bit of a tan spending a few days sitting on the beach. I lathered up most days trying to avoid the whole skin cancer thing but but went au naturale for a couple of hours on the last day just for a little visual proof that I actually took a vacation. As far as rest goes, I don’t know if I would really call it all that restful. Nieces and nephews made sure that I didn’t sleep in too long most days but it was a good time and gave me a chance to relax and re-energize. Thanks to Samantha’s mom for setting up the whole vacation and finding a such a comfortable place to stay. We got back Friday afternoon just in time to catch the end of the puppet parade downtown, what a cool thing for Spartanburg. The parade ended in with a big gathering in the greenspace near the clock tower. There were kids everywhere including Boys and Girls Club groups with Nikki and Heidi, Kris and students from the Spark group, Jane, Mark Scott and others from the city, Betsy Fleming from Converse, AIRS and other HUB-BUB folks. It was great way to return to Spartanburg and my first chance to see Doug McAbee’s sculptures that had been planted in the space while I was away. Cate has been working on making that happen for a while, good job Cate. Now we need about four or five more.

I was supposed to return on Saturday but cut my vacation short after booking Hot Club of Cowtown. I’m sure that the show could have gone down without me but I had to get back to make sure it all worked out and of course enjoy an incredible band. Sure enough it was one of the best shows we’ve ever had at the Showroom (I know I say that all the time). Hot Club of Cowtown consists of three amazingly talented, world-class musicians and the show blew me away. We ended up with only fifty or so people some coming from Greenville, Charlotte, Raleigh and other surrounding cities. I’m not sure why more Spartanburg folks didn’t come out but we will have them back if we can work it out. All of the band members, Elana, Whit and Jake, were super nice people and a pleasure to work with. Elana brought along her dog Ava who wandered around the Showroom during the second set before taking her place on the front sofa. Please, if you see these guys on the schedule again do yourself a favor and come to the show. You will not be disappointed.

It kills me when people say there isn’t anything to do around here. More and more there are weeks when I have more things that I want to do than I have time for. This turned out to be a huge music weekend in Spartanburg. Aside from our show on Friday there was the big event at the Music Camp last night. I went out with Jonas, Patrick and Margaret Ann getting there just in time for the last two acts. We missed DAM Combo, Shane Pruitt Band and Col. Gene Wyatt Trio but caught the Greencards and The Belleville Outfit. The Greencards were great but Belleville stole the show. They were rockstars and put on a blowout performance complete with fog, lightshow and a beautiful grand piano. The crowd pushed to the front of the stage creating a sea of people dancing, screaming and tossing beach balls. Congrats on an impressive show guys, you get better everytime I see you! The music continues today with a free show at Duncan park. Kudzu, The Watts and Shane Pruitt Band will play out at the amphitheater where Jazz in The Park used to take place. Gather your blanket, cooler and kids/dogs and head out there.

I love my job, HUB-BUB and the city that I live in and it’s hard for me to tear myself away from all that. I have to thank Betsy, Alix, Margaret Ann, Sara and the Artists-In-Residence for holding down the fort while I was away. It’s going to be a busy week getting back to business and preparing for the opening on Thursday. I hope you will all come out to support the new AIRs. It’s been great getting to know them for the past few weeks and I’m sure that the show is going to be something not to be missed. Of course you can see the exhibit for a month but it won’t be like being at the opening with Sarah giving a one-time performance and Patrick reading some of his writings. Check out the article and video in today’s Herald Journal and make plans to be at the Showroom Thursday between 7 and 9.

It’s a lot of work getting ready for vacation usually involves many other people. Thanks to our neighbor Sherrie for keeping an eye on our house and gathering the mail. Also thanks to the folks at Woodland Pet Resort. This is the first time we have used their services and they took good care of our two Great Danes. If you’re looking for a nice place to send your animals while you’re away I recommend them. Each of our dogs had their own room and they even have webcams in them so you can check in on them from afar. Sounds kinda crazy and probably is, we love our dogs. It’s good to be home with the dogs, our friends and all the things I love. Getting away gives you a renewed appreciation for everything.

2 Comments

Filed under HUB-BUB Staff, Stephen Long

2 responses to “tanned, rested and ready -or- I can’t get the sand out of my shoes

  1. sara

    we’re glad you’re back stephen. thanks for all the positivity surrounding what all is going on here. i’m just like you, i constantly find that there are more things to do than i have time for, and that’s a pretty satisfying type of disapointment. of course you are one of the forces behind making spartanburg that kind of place, and your efforts are so appreciated by us all. thanks for everything!

  2. alix

    A webcam at the kennel?! are you serious?

Leave a Reply

